FASEB society members elected to the National Academy of Medicine

By | October 20, 2016

Thirty-one scientists from societies belonging to the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB) were elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM). They are among 70 regular members and nine international members announced this week during the NAM annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

Originally established by the National Academy of Sciences as the Institute of Medicine in 1970, NAM now serves alongside the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering as a national resource for independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on health issues. Election to the Academy recognizes outstanding professional achievement in the health sciences.

“FASEB takes great pride in the election of so many people from the membership of our societies,” said FASEB President, Hudson Freeze, PhD. “We join the Academy in recognizing them for their outstanding work and contributions to scientific knowledge and human health.”

The 31 newly elected scientists with ties to FASEB hail from 14 societies: The American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI); the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB); the Genetics Society of America (GSA); the American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG); the American Physiological Society (APS); the Endocrine Society; the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES); the American Society for Investigative Pathology (ASIP); Society for Redox Biology and Medicine (SfRBM); The American Association of Immunologists (AAI); The American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (ASPET); The American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR); The Society for the Study of Reproduction (SSR).

The FASEB member society scientists elected to the National Academy of Medicine are:

Peter B. Bach, M.D., MAPP – (ASCI)

Bonnie Bassler, PhD – (ASBMB, GSA)

Leslie Biesecker, M.D. – (ASCI, ASHG)

Robert M. Califf, M.D. – (ASCI)

Kathleen Collins, M.D., PhD – (ASCI)

Roger D. Cone, PhD – (APS, Endocrine)

Joseph L. DeRisi, PhD – (GSA)

Maura L. Gillison, M.D., PhD – (ASCI)

Alison M. Goate, D.Phil – (ASHG)

Paula T. Hammond, PhD – (BMES)

Stanley L. Hazen, M.D., PhD – (ASIP, ASBMB, SfRBM, ASCI)

Mukesh K. Jain, M.D. – (ASCI)

Maria Jasin, PhD – (GSA)

Melina R. Kibbe, M.D. — (APS, ASCI)

Allan D. Kirk, M.D., PhD, FACS – (ASCI, AAI)

Mark A. Krasnow, M.D., Ph.D. – (GSA)

Francis S. Lee, M.D. PhD—(ASCI)

Jake Liang, M.D. — (ASCI)

George A. Macones, M.D., M.S.C.E — (ASCI)

Donald P. McDonnell, PhD—(ASPET, Endocrine)

Samir Mitragotri, PhD – (BMES)

Mark A. Musen, M.D., PhD – (ASCI)

Kenneth Offit, M.D., PhD – (ASHG, ASCI)

Paul B. Rothman, M.D. – (AAI, ASCI)

Jane E. Salmon, M.D. — (AAI)

Aziz Sancar, M.D., PhD—(ASBMB)

Hugh S. Taylor, M.D.—(SSR, Endocrine)

Huntington F. Willard, PhD—(ASHG, GSA)

Michelle A. Williams, ScD—(ASBMB)

Tadatsugu Taniguchi, PhD—(AAI)

Michael J. Yaszemski, M.D., PhD—(ASBMR)